Original Posts · Reflection

Hello, Spring!

It feels like it’s been forever since I’ve written here- probably because it has been! Though as I write this I’m looking at a coating of snow on the eaves of my house, I know that spring is almost here. With it comes the end of my high school career, and the anticipation is sometimes bittersweet. Senior year has been more work than I have ever done in my life! Between college apps, work for IB (all my IAs and my Extended Essay), and applying for scholarships, my blogging has had to take a backseat for a while šŸ˜¦ But spring means more time for me to read and write as I begin to wrap up my school responsibilities.

But, my reading and writing have continued! (Albeit at a reduced rate). According to Goodreads, I’ve read 11 books so far in 2017, which is not great news, as my goal is to read 100! However, I have written a tremendous amount, both for school and personally. My English teacher made it an assignment way back in August for us to keep journals and write every day, and I’m nearing the end of my second one! I think all told I’ve written 346 pages this school year just in those journals. Some of that writing has been fiction and poetry, which I will gradually share with you all. At the end of the school year, I also intend to do a wrap-up post revealing how many words I wrote in papers for all my IB classes over the course of my senior year, and how many words I wrote in college apps and scholarships. I expect it to be a staggering total, and one that I can be proud of for a long time.

I’ve also embarked on a personal project to make a spreadsheet cataloguing all the books I own by author, series, genre, and other categories of interest. I’ll report those statistics when I’m done as well. I hope to read more responsibly once I can truly see what I need to work through:

library compendium for blog.jpg

I’ve only just begun entering data, butĀ SplinteredĀ is the 93rd book! Those books in red are ones I unfortunately haven’t read yet. Again, I will report the results of my project when it’s completed, and a few of my original poems will be up in the next few days. They are all responses to poems by Seamus Heaney I read and analyzed for my IB English class that I just fell in love with. If anyone wants to talk poetry, I’d be happy to tell you all about him!

So- tell me- what have you all been doing? Reading? Writing? I’d love to hear all about your winter, and listen to your thoughts on mine! Leave me a comment below, and happy reading!

Leave a Reply

