Awards · Original Posts

Liebster Award, #2

Hello, everyone!! I’ve been flattered to be nominated for the Liebster Award again, this time by Bookish Girl In a Boring World. This nomination means a lot to me, especially since my blogging activity has really, really dropped off since April. I can announce that I am back now, for good, and have several posts planned. However, I thought an award post would be a nice way to get back into the blogging spirit (and remind you who I am :))


The Rules

  1. Acknowledge the person who nominated you for the award and post the award
  2. Answer the questions that were asked by the blogger who nominated you.
  3. Give 11 7 facts about yourself
  4. Ask 11 questions of your own
  5. Nominate 11 blogs for the award (or however many blogs you can nominate)
  6. Notify your nominees.

Bookish Girl’s Questions:

What is your favorite book from your childhood?

At first, I thought this would be a difficult question to answer, since I spent so much of my childhood reading, but then one just jumped out. My favorite, all-time childhood read would have to be the Little House on the Prairie series by Laura Ingalls Wilder. In particular, my favorite installment would have to be These Happy Golden Years. My mom read these aloud to my brother and I just as I was learning to read, and in first grade I was so determined I finally managed to read them by myself! I was very proud of myself.

Do you have any collections?

I actually answered this question the first time I won this, too! Not really… I’ve tried before. I tried to collect stamps, but I just wasn’t super into it. I almost have all fifty U.S. State commemorative quarters, but my grandma started that collection. I have a ton of dolls that I collected as a little girl. And, of course, books!

What made you decide to start a blog?

It was kind of a whim that I’d had for quite a while, on and off, actually, but Hannah Heath really inspired me to think about branding myself as a writer and a reader, and I made it my New Year’s Resolution for 2016. It’s been a bit rocky, and I haven’t lived up to my original high hopes, but I’ve loved every second!

What is your favorite book to movie adaptation?

I think, without question, the Lord of the Rings trilogy adaptations are phenomenal. Peter Jackson took a series which is incredible, but requires real dedication to read, removed Tolkien’s academic meanderings to create really, really great movies that distill the pure awesomeness of the books. I also think that The Fault in Our Stars was adapted really, really well.

If you could forget only one book, which would you choose to reread as if you had never read it before?

This is a hard question. There is so much magic I wish I could go back and relive for the first time all over again. I’m going to pick Harry Potter- which is terribly cliche, but bear with me. The first time I read it, I only read until halfway through Prisoner of Azkaban and stopped, because Harry frustrated me. I’d like to forget all of it and read the whole series in as close to one sitting as possible, because I took at least a six-month break, and I just think I could love that world even more than I do.

What is one of your little-known hobbies that you are fond of?

I like to bake. I’m a bit of snob about it, I think, because I make everything from scratch (think three layer red velvet cake, here), and I make really unusual things. I always want to use a new recipe, and people’s birthdays are always really good opportunities to do that. My friends all adore this particular hobby of mine 🙂

What is your favorite book that is widely considered to be a classic?

Pride & Prejudice. It’s actually one of my favorite all-time books. I LOVE to read classics. Other favorites include Jane EyreA Tale of Two Cities, and Moby Dick.

Do you have a most valued book? If so, why?

I own a lot of books, but not really any I value over the others, with two exceptions. The first is my copy of Little Women, which was given to me in the third grade by my teacher, whose daughter hadn’t liked it when she was a girl. It’s a beautiful old illustrated edition with its own box, and I LOVE that book. It reminds me of that teacher, who I love.  I also own one of the copies of The Raven King shipped out by Fountain Bookstore which Maggie Stiefvater doodled in, and that book still hasn’t made it from my nightstand to my bookshelf, three months later.

What made you go into the field that you are in/plan to enter?

I’m actually still not sure what I’m going into, so this is a question I’d like to see other people answer, if you have found your calling. I’m thinking of maybe majoring in English once I get to college, but there’s still so much I don’t know about myself and what the best future for me would be.

What is your least favorite read of all time?

The Secret of Roan Inish. Or Tiger Rising. Don’t read them.

What is one thing you’re proud of not known by other bloggers?

There’s a lot of possible answers to this question, actually. My blogging is a fairly minor portion of everything else that goes on in my life, and most of my pride is wrapped up in my day-to-day life. I’m very, very involved at my high school, and I unexpectedly won an award at the end of the year for dedication to the school that made me cry I was so honored. That was one of my proudest moments, I’d say.

Facts About Me:

(I’m going to try not to repeat anything I’ve put in the previous post.)

1. My Ilvermorny house is Horned Serpent.  For those who don’t know, Ilvermorny is the American version of Hogwarts. You can read about its founding and be sorted on Pottermore.

2. I’m currently re-reading the entire Lord of the Rings series in preparation for a 4,000 word research paper I’m writing about it.

3. I’m obsessed with Christmas. From the day after Thanksgiving all the way through Epiphany, it’s all Christmas, all the time.

4. I started learning Ancient Greek this summer, and I LOVE it!

5. In that same vein, I love Latin and all the Classics.

6. I really like oldies music. I have a playlist full of Queen, the Eagles, Billy Joel, AC/DC, Fleetwood Mac, Credence Clearwater Revival, and tons of other groups from the 60s, 70s, and 80s that I love to listen to.

7. My feet do not work properly. They pain me after I run or exercise. Sometimes they’re just randomly painful.

My Questions:

  1. How accurate is the Sorting Test for you?
  2. How did you discover your passion for books?
  3. What is the ultimate dessert?
  4. What’s your favorite professional sports team?
  5. What’s your favorite song that everybody else hates?
  6. If you could instantly be fluent in any language, which would you choose?
  7. Name the top 5 places you want to go before you die.
  8. What form of social media do you prefer (other than blogging)?
  9. What’s your favorite thing about yourself?
  10. What book do you want to be buried with?
  11. What is the most pressing item on your TBR?

Nominations:

Unbroken Bones

And anyone else who wants to do this challenge!! It’s fun, I recommend it.

Your Turn:

Can anyone relate to my answers? Disagree? Did you do this award? Comment below and tell me about it!

 

Leave a Reply

