Book Tags · Original Posts

Myself in Five Characters Tag

I’ve wanted to do this tag for a while, so thanks to Astra from A Stranger’s Guide to Novels for nominating me! (Well, she nominated everybody, but she and I talked about it in the comments).

me in 5 characters

This tag is basically where you choose five characters that represent you in some way. I’m anticipating this one to be super hard!  Okay, let’s get started.

The Rules:

1) Thank the person who nominated you
2) Post a quote for three consecutive days
3) Nominate three new bloggers each day

I thought this would be hard, but then I looked at my shelves for a few seconds and it wasn’t, actually! I’ve tried to find myself in books from a very young age, though, so I’ve had practice. Let’s get started!

Matilda

Matilda3.jpg

As a little girl, this was one of the first book characters I really identified with. Matilda learns to read at a very young age, just like I did, and always found the best comfort in her books and stories. While I did not have an evil (literally!) family like Matilda, I did use reading as my primary means of escape and entertainment all through elementary school, which I have continued through to today! Matilda also loves to learn and is very good at school, which I have always been as well. I loved this story as a child because I connected so well with Matilda, and even now it’s a great comfort read for me. You’re never too old for Roald Dahl! Uh oh, I feel a re-read of The BFG coming on…

Tessa Gray

infernaldevices.jpg

tessagray.jpg

Source

I LOVE Tessa! She’s one of my all-time favorite characters, and my favorite female character Cassandra Clare has ever created. I really identify with her because of her bookishness and how freely she loves, both of which I emulate in my own life. Also, her morals are rather like my own. I’m almost always frustrated with a character at least once, even the ones that I love above all else, but I really approved of Tessa’s decisions throughout the whole series- they were so sensible and lovely, thought out things that I would have done. If I had to be one fictional character, it would probably be Tessa Gray. In many ways, I think I’d gain more than I gave up. I mean, Will AND Jem? Sign me up! 🙂

Elizabeth Bennet

Can I just say, I love this book? I love everything about it, and Elizabeth and Darcy are two of my favorite characters ever in one of my all-time favorite relationships! I identify with Elizabeth for reasons similar to those stated for Tessa- I really uphold a lot of her values, especially those on love and marriage. I also see my own vanities and arrogance reflected in her sometimes too. I think every girl who reads at some point or another wants to be Elizabeth Bennet, too. I really feel like I would have done what she did, with similar reasons. I’m a very bookish, independent kind of girl who still appreciates and participates in society too, just as Elizabeth does, hence my pick.

Hermione Granger

hermionegranger.jpg

Source

I always, always get Hermione when I take quizzes about which Harry Potter character I would be. I’m a bit more bookish, I think (I’m a Ravenclaw, not a Gryffindor), but otherwise Hermione and I are very similar. She and I abhor cheating, but will give all kinds of homework help, and have a reverence for school and learning. I’m also (I like to think) a good, courageous friend as Hermione is, who isn’t afraid to do what’s right. I would love to do magic! I am scary when angry as well but I have never unleashed birds on anyone. An importance difference is that I cry very little (except when laughing, where I’m always literally crying), and I always felt like Hermione cried fairly easily, which wasn’t bad. It just wasn’t me. However, I do agree when Hermione says:

“Books! And cleverness! There are more important things – friendship and bravery.”

Richard Campbell Gansey III

ravencycle__span.png

gansey.jpg

(I’m sorry I don’t know where this fan art came from specifically, it’s been my phone screensaver for three months. Artist, you’re awesome; this is my favorite drawing of Gansey! I just don’t know beyond the url on the picture.)

I know it seems odd for me to pick a guy as the character I identify most with, but I’ve felt this way since I first got a hold of this series back in June, and I may have mentioned it in this review of the first book. My reviews of books 2 and 3 are under those links too, in case you haven’t grabbed this series and devoured it yet.

Where do I begin with Gansey?  From the first, I connected with him. Gansey is a pure academic, who’s lived a life of privilege where he can focus exclusively on his studies. I’m more school-oriented than Gansey, who is obsessed with the hunt for Glendower, though he is an excellent student. Gansey is extremely loyal and sociable, but he’s accidentally pretentious in a way he simply can’t avoid. He thinks before he speaks, or his concern comes out sounding all wrong. In The Raven Boys, Gansey fights with Adam, and Stiefvater writes his feelings:

“My words are unerring tools of
destruction, and I’ve come unequipped with the ability to disarm them.”

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

That moment gave me chills, because I connected to this vulnerability of Gansey’s so much. I really felt like I was Gansey, in that moment. I’ve felt that way in the past. Through Gansey, Stiefvater has put into words what I have always felt and I’m so grateful for it.

As you might imagine, this deep love and connection with Gansey makes this series very stressful for me to read, because Chapter 1 of The Raven Boys promises that Gansey will die (and no, that’s really not a spoiler).  Therefore, waiting for The Raven King is the most anxious torture I’ve ever felt in my life. April 26, 2016. I’m so nervous. This is the only character on this list whose fate is unknown, and my heart is beating just thinking about it. As Gansey says:

“They were always walking away from him. But he never seemed able to walk away from them.”

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

I’m getting an autographed copy of the book though, so that’s cool!

Alright, I tag:

Rachael at Rachael Reads

Jill at The Bookish Faerie

Nicole at Sorry, I’m Booked

Comfy Reading Corner

Bones from Unbroken Bones (You guys should all check her out and follow her, she’s awesome!)

What do you guys think? Tell me about your character connections below!

 

 

11 thoughts on “Myself in Five Characters Tag

Leave a Reply

