Book Reviews · Original Posts

Book Review: Their Fractured Light

their fractured light

OMG. This series. It slayed me. I had such a massive book hangover afterwards. Their Fractured Light is the last book in the Starboard Trilogy by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner, which is an epic, romantic space opera! I’ve reviewed the first book, the second installment, and the short story that connected them as well. If you haven’t read my reviews or the books, check them all out now!

Okay, so this review is going to be very general, because 1) it’s hard to review the last book in a series without spoilers and be in depth and 2) I waited too long to write it and have already latched onto another series that is killing me (reviews for it will be up soon!).

I thought this was a great series closer! I understood the plot- which was intense and surprising and EPIC- much better than in This Shattered World (which was book 2), because the loyalties and conspiracies were much clearer here. My heart was racing as I read this; I was so terrified for my precious babies. The plot twists were unreal, and terrifyingly frequent. Tarver, Lilac, Jubilee, and Flynn all play significant parts in this one, much more so than Tarver and Lilac played in This Shattered World, which was awesome! The new characters were really cool too. I LOVED Gideon (such a sweet, good, adorable hacker was never created :)), and while I really sympathized with and enjoyed Sofia as a character, by the end of the story I didn’t like her as a person, if that makes sense. I just found her to be really rigid. I’m not saying there was something inherently wrong where no one would like her, I personally just didn’t. This brings me to my biggest problem with this book. It was narrated by the wrong characters. I mean, most of the book Gideon and Sofia were the perfect narrator choices. But a thing happened, and then someone else should have gotten to narrate, and that person did not get to, and I was really, really disappointed by that, because it wasn’t about Gideon and Sofia at that point, yet they were both still talking!

Regardless, this is an awesome ending to an awesome series! The themes in this installment get to be really important too, as well as the characters’ stories, which is always lovely to see. I highly recommend everyone check out this series!

Rating: 4.5 /5 stars

Overall series: 5/5 stars. I’ll always love this series, but it doesn’t belong in my all-time favorites category.

Quotes! Just a few, because I don’t want to spoil anyone:

“Love, and trust. The things that make us human. They could have been mine, if only I could have leapt. If only we could have leapt.”

“There are monsters among us, it’s true. But there are heroes too.”

“But free will is what it means to be human, and no one can determine the path you take through this universe. Choice is our greatest right, our greatest gift-and our greatest responsibility.”

Their Fractured Light by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

That’s all for now! Lady Midnight comes out tomorrow, so you can probably expect a rant review on Thursday or Friday! I’m also currently addicted to the Winner’s Trilogy, so there are three more reviews coming from that series too!

One thought on “Book Review: Their Fractured Light

Leave a Reply

