Book Tags · Original Posts

The This or That Tag

thisorthatbooktag

I was tagged by the lovely Aubrey from Aubrey’s Book Nook! Thanks so much! This tag was created by Ayunda at Tea and Paperbacks.

THE RULES:
  • MENTION THE CREATOR OF THE TAG (AYUNDA @ TEA AND PAPERBACKS).
  • THANK THE BLOGGER WHO TAGGED YOU!
  • CHOOSE ONE OF THE OPTIONS, YOU DON’T HAVE TO TELL THE REASONS WHY YOU CHOSE THAT BUT YOU CAN ALSO DO THEM IF YOU WANT TO.
  • TAG 10 OTHER PEOPLE TO DO THIS TAG TO SPREAD THE LOVE!

feather15

The Questions

Reading on the couch or in bed?

It really depends, honestly. Before I go to bed I’ll lay on top of my blankets and read, but I also retreat there during the day to read too. On the other hand, I read in chairs and on couches all the time! I think I prefer a big lazyboy chair- something really comfy that I can curl up in.

Male main character or female main character?

This really depends too! I think here it’s probably bad to have a preference one way or another- girls can connect with stories narrated by and/or featuring boys and vice versa. There are certain male characters that I love, and certain ones that I hate, and the same for girls. For example, I hate reading Tris as the main character in Divergent (and its sequels). I have so many issues with that series it could fill another entire post. However, the same is true of Edward Cullen. I like to read him, but then when I think about him later he makes me cringe. I’ve read tons more books with female main characters than male ones, and so that changes the dynamics too, because it changes how the characters of the opposite sex are written to provide sexual tension and love interests. Actually, thinking about it, I really don’t like Adam Parrish from the Raven Cycle either. I wracked my brains for like five minutes to come up with characters I disliked here!

Sweet snacks or salty snacks when reading?

I don’t eat while I read. Sorry!

Trilogies or Quartets?

This question is really unfair, I think. Do you know how many more trilogies than quartets exist? And how many quartets ignore the existence of that moniker and just call themselves a series? Therefore, I hereby change the question:

Series or Stand-alones?

I LOVE series. Most of my favorite books are series. I think they just provide more room for character development and extravagant adventures. The Throne of Glass series is probably the best example of that, followed by Harry Potter. However, I think stand-alones can be really cool too! Some of my favorite books are stand-alines too, like The Book Thief and The Night Circus. I also really like companion novels, like Graceling and Fire, both by Kristen Cashore. Read them if you haven’t, they’re amazing! Basically, just give me books. 🙂

First or third person point of view?

I think I addressed this in a previous book review, but I HATE first person. In general, I think it degrades the quality of fiction. Sure, it’s more accessible, but in my mind, first person is less sophisticated literature. (I know that’s a super pretentious opinion, don’t worry.) It’s not that I can’t enjoy first person, but it has to be done REALLY, REALLY WELL. So, when a book impresses me with its first person narration, it’s really good first person, because I just prefer third person so much. Some of my favorite first person stories are the Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead, The Fault in Our Stars by John Green, and the Starbound Trilogy (review for the first book here) by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner. My favorite, favorite narration is third person multiple narrators, or third person omniscient narration. Limited narration bothers me sometimes. I have a hard time rereading Harry Potter in certain places because it’s limited purely to Harry’s perspective, and I really wish it wasn’t.

Reading at night or in the morning?

I prefer to read at night, because if I read in the morning I get behind on getting ready for the day, which generally screws the entire day up. I love to read when I wake up, I just don’t have time, because once I start I don’t want to stop! I like to read in the wee hours of the night especially.

Libraries or bookstores?

Bookstores! I’m obsessed with the actual owning of books- in fact, I dislike reading library books because I can’t write in them and love them and keep them forever. I firmly believe that heaven is a bookstore with brand new perfect books free of charge.

Books that make you laugh or that make you cry?

I’ve also discussed this recently, but I’m a really tough nut to crack when it comes to crying during a book. It takes a really, really, really impactful story to cause tears for me. So, if I cried while reading a book, I’ll probably remember it forever. Notable books that caused tears for me are The Fault in Our Stars, Clockwork Princess, and The Book Thief. The list of books that I didn’t cry reading but probably should have is really long, including Allegiant, Mockingjay, City of Heavenly Fire, Crown of Midnight, and Illuminae. I honestly can’t remember if I cried reading Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (I’d like to believe I did!), but I definitely cried in Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince. Bizarrely, I cry every time I read Little Women. In fact, books that I’ve cried during I sometimes avoid rereading, because I almost never cry in the reread and then I feel like a terrible person. I’m actually afraid to reread or rewatch The Fault in Our Stars for this very reason. I LOVE laughing while I’m reading, and funny characters are some of my favorites, like Will Herondale. That boy. So, both, I guess, but for different reasons entirely? A book I cried during was significant, a book I laughed through was enjoyable.

Black or white book covers?

Pretty ones!

Characters or plot?

Characters! I have a shipping problem. A great character stays with me much longer than a gripping plot, and my favorite things about stories are almost always the relationships between the characters.

I tag:

Rachael at Rachael Reads

Lilla at the Bookkeeper’s Secret

Nova at Confessions of a Literary Addict

Astra at A Stranger’s Guide to Novels

Cat at Cat’s Shelf

Nicole at Sorry, I’m Booked

Sorry that’s not ten! Anyone who wants to do this one should go for it!

 

7 thoughts on “The This or That Tag

Leave a Reply

