Book Tags · Original Posts

The Keep It Fresh Award

keep it fresh award

A big thank-you to Rachael Reads for nominating me!

RULES:

  • Post the rules before starting and link back to this post as a reference for other bloggers.
  • Part A: Answer each of the fruit questions (each fruit corresponds to a book!) & add pictures plus why you thought that particular book deserves that particular fruit if possible.
  • Part B: Choose your favourite fruit (even if it is one of the fruits in part A). Come up with a question that we didn’t ask and answer it.
  • Part C: Create your own smoothie from the fruits in Part A (imagine a Lemon-Tomato-Apple smoothie ~ yuck), and find a book that would correlate to your smoothie!
  • Nominate as many and anyone that you think are deserving of this award but it would be nice if you nominated a minimum of 5!
  • Notify your nominees of the nomination (nom nom nom ~ :D)
  • The most important rules? HAVE FUN and of course, KEEP IT FRESH!

PART A: FRUIT QUESTIONS

  1. Strawberries: Name the sweetest book you’ve read. (e.g. sweet in terms of the characters or if the story takes place in a sweet world… etc.)
  2. Coconut: What is a book that you would bring on vacation with you to a tropical destination? (Or if you’re just relaxing at the beach…)
  3. Pineapple: What is a book that you didn’t think you would like by judging its cover/summary/the first few pages but started to grow on you?
  4. Orange: What’s the juiciest book you’ve read? (e.g. A book with tons of action, romance… etc.)
  5. Watermelon: A watery book (e.g. There wasn’t tons of substance to the book/the details were just too watery…etc. Don’t get us wrong though, we love watermelons!)
  6. Dragonfruit: What’s the most unique book you’ve read? (e.g. Unique in writing style, characters, plot… etc.)
  7. Lemons: Name a book that made you feel sour. (e.g. The emotions were just sour, you just felt sour reading the book, or the book includes sour characters… etc.)
  8. Tomato: What is a wonderful book that you think should be more widely known? Or a fantastic author whom you think deserves more recognition? (Since some may not know that tomatoes are actually fruits!)
  9. Apple: Name a really stereotypical book of a certain genre just like apples which are typical fruits. In the end was that book good or not? (e.g. A very typical contemporary/fantasy book… etc.)
  10. Blueberries: Name a book that made you feel blue. (Any sad, depressing books that you’ve read?)
  11. Grapefruit: Any bitter books? (e.g. a book that was blue but MORE… do you have any bitter resentments towards characters from a book? Any sour turned bitter emotions? Any uber hateful villains?)
  12. Jackfruit: Name the most physically heavy book that you’ve ever read. (Because jackfruits are pretty heavy fruits!)
  13. Limes: Name a funny book that you’ve read because limes add flavour and so does humour with every book.

Strawberries: A Sweet Book

lunarchronicles.jpg

Even as I write this, I feel like The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer is an odd pick. I LOVE sweet books- my favorite thing in any book are the relationships between the characters, which get bonus points if they’re adorable. All four books in this series focus on the most adorable relationships between these precious babies, hence my pick. Cress and Thorne would probably be my favorite, but I love all of them! I get warm, fuzzy feelings thinking about this cast of characters.

Coconut: A Vacation Read

The-Night-Circus

I honestly don’t know what you’re supposed to read on vacation, so I’ll pick a book that took me on vacation- The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern! This novel blew me away with its characters and setting. I felt as if I was transported to the Circus every time I read another chapter! There is so much I could say about this gem, but I’ll leave what I said when I reviewed it to stand for itself.

Pineapple: A Book that Grew on You

twilight-series

This is terribly cliche, but Twilight by Stephenie Meyer (both the first book and the entire series). I was honestly expecting to hate it. However, it wormed its way into my heart! It’s not my favorite series, by any stretch, and I recognize how problematic it is, but when I want an easy read with engaging characters and steamy romance, Twilight is a great choice. I’ve read the whole series multiple times, and I quite enjoy it whenever I do. Though- keep the movies away from me! They’re terrible!

Orange: A Juicy Read

queen of shadows.jpg

OMG, the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas is soooooo juicy! When I compare where the story began to where it is now, so much has happened, it’s like looking at two or three different series entirely! The juiciest book was the latest installment, Queen of Shadows. I can’t wait to see what happens next!

Watermelon: A Watery Read

Shatter Me

Honestly, I thought Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi was really weak in almost every aspect. In my memory, it’s even weaker than I characterized it as in this review. The only thing I really liked was Mafi’s writing. I felt the characters, plot, world building, and relationships were all weak and troublesome.

Dragonfruit: A Unique Read

Illuminae-Cover

I’m going to go on a rant here: Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff really blew me away! The format is so unique and incredible, and within that the story and characters and writing and world and EVERYTHING is so unique and wonderful; I can’t get enough of it! This kind of awesome creative storytelling is what the world really needs. I’m really looking forward to the sequel, Gemina, which is due to be released in October.

Lemons: A Sour Read

divergent series.jpg

This may be the most unpopular opinion I’ve voiced yet, but I really HATED the end of the Divergent series. Divergent itself was great- cool idea, good characters, reasonably well written. I COULD NOT STAND the last two books. Particularly Insurgent. I felt that Veronica Roth created this awesome thing and then totally destroyed it! Tris frustrated me so much. Her decisions made no sense, and I had no sense of who she was as a person, and Tobias really disappointed me. Allegiant was lackluster too. I’m so disappointed every time I think about all the potential this series had. The movies have really improved these books!

Tomato: An Under-appreciated Book/Author

vampire academy

The Vampire Academy series is so under-appreciated! It gets a bad rap because it’s about vampires, but they’re the best vampires you’ll ever read! Richelle Mead created a great world and great characters with this series, and it doesn’t get nearly enough love. The first time I read this series, I was so engrossed!  I checked the whole series out from the library and read all six books in like two weeks! The spin-off series about Sydney and Adrian is great too, though I confess I still need to read the last book. I read Vampire Academy all at once because it had all already been published, but the spin-offs weren’t all out yet and I got behind. Everybody go check Richelle Mead’s work out!

Apple: A Stereotypical Read

matched_series

So, this series is stereotypical! It’s actually a really unique idea, but it’s very standard dystopian/teen romance. I actually really enjoyed reading this series, though I haven’t reread it, except for two chapters in the middle of Crossed that make me really happy. (I reread almost everything; it’s a sign of love.) This series is an example of a stereotype done really well- while not award-winning or record setting, this is certainly a pleasant read. Stereotypes are meant to comforting, and this series is exactly that.

Blueberries: A Sad Read

I had to go with The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. This is undoubtedly one of my favorite books, but it makes me cry ridiculously hard. And the movie was PERFECT. Actually, despite my extreme love for both the book and the movie I have only reread it three times, because it gets harder for me to cry every time (Not because I’m not upset, but because now I get angry instead of sad), and I’m don’t think I could forgive myself for NOT crying when reading this book. This book should be mandatory reading; it’s so significant. I love it and I hate it, and I WANT AUGUSTUS WATERS, OKAY? I’m not okay.

Grapefruit: A Bitter Read

Hunger_games_trilogy.jpg

Okay, disclaimer: I really enjoyed this series. It’s not in my all-time favorites, but I did enjoy reading it, and I got genuinely emotionally attached to all the characters and the story. I have read The Hunger Games and Catching Fire multiple times. However, Mockingly really irritated me and left me a bit bitter. Gale as a character makes me really angry. I mean, don’t get me wrong, he’s a great character, but he transforms into what he tries to destroy, and my optimism hates to read that. In fact, my overall problem with this series was that it was too real. I get that this is how these people really would have acted in that situation, but Katniss’s trauma was emphasized so heavily that it was hard to read Mockingjay. Books are supposed to give us hope, to let us escape from the realities where people are damaged, and this series didn’t let that happen. Which is, of course, thematically wonderful and super important for society. But not awesome for my personal enjoyment of a series. This is another case where the movies are wonderful! They’re really true to the story and characters, as well as genuinely enjoyable.

Jackfruit: A Heavy Read

I’m ridiculously fond of ridiculously long books. The longer a book is, the happier I am! I love to read for hours and hours and know that there’s plenty of story left between the pages. These are just a few of the longest books I’ve ever tackled: Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas, Seven Novels by Jane Austen (I’ve read six), Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy, Inheritance by Christopher Paolini, City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare (I actually broke the spine on my hardcopy of it!), Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling (I think this one is on everyone’s list), Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff, and The Star Wars Trilogy by George Lucas (this is the book form of the movies).

Limes: A Funny Read

carry on.jpg

I really appreciate humor in a book, especially because I like to read epic stories about war and death and love and the affliction of being human, so a touch of humor is a nice break from the really serious themes of the books I read. Funny characters always worm their way into my heart. That is one reason Carry On was so memorable and enjoyable for me: I laughed out loud even as I worried about Baz. Rainbow Rowell is brilliant, as usual.

PART B: FAVOURITE FRUIT

Choose your favourite fruit and then choose a book that would correspond the best and if your fruit is already taken on our list, make up your own question and answer it.

Mango: A Book That Stayed with You

I actually don’t really like raw mangos, but I didn’t want to reuse a fruit. I like mangos dried though; they’re so sweet and delicious! However, mangos have a really tangy flavor that I thought would be really applicable as a book tag: a book that stayed with you for a long time. There are just certain books you can’t purge from your soul: their mark is indelible.

the book thief.jpg

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak is one such book. If I were to make a required reading list for all people, this book would be on it. Not only is it one of the best-written books I’ve ever encountered, but it is just such an important  book. I can’t stress it enough: this book will make you reconsider mortality and what you should do with the time you have left with the people you love. I couldn’t get it out of my head for weeks. Still can’t, really. READ THIS BOOK.

PART C: FRUIT SMOOTHIES

Finally, choose a book that was a mix of some of these fruits to make your own smoothie. (e.g. A strawberry blueberry lemon smoothie would correlate to a sweet and sad but sour book.)

I think I’m going to go with a strawberry-orange-blueberry-dragonfruit-mango-lime smoothie! Which would taste terrible. But, in bookish terms, these kinds of books are everything that I want. They’re sweet and funny, with juicy, unique plots, but they’re also painful and deeply lasting. They’re the kind of stories that are both wonderful novels and thematically significant.

shadowhunters first two series.jpg

Cassandra Clare’s novels are all this and more. I LOVE this world, I love the shadowhunters; they are exquisite people! I prefer the Infernal Devices to the Mortal Instruments, but I love them both SO MUCH!! I can’t wait to see what else Clare produces for us in this world.

Nominations:

This was so much fun! Also, it was really hard, and I neglected a bunch of my favorite series and authors. Sorry! I had to think a lot with this one, and be more critical than I usually am. I nominate:

Lila at The Bookkeeper’s Secrets

A Stranger’s Guide to Novels

Alecksis at Rocket Reads

Nicole at Sorry, I’m Booked

Jocelyn at 52 Letters

8 thoughts on “The Keep It Fresh Award

Leave a Reply

