Book Tags · Original Posts

Mean Girls Book Tag!

The Mean Girls (1)

I was tagged to do the Mean Girls Book Tag by Samer T. of bookbubblebee! Thanks so much! I’ve never watched Mean Girls (I know, I know), but these are still great questions about books!

1) “It’s pronounced like Cady.” Which fictional characters’ names did you get completely wrong?

Chaol Westfall, from the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas. It’s prononced KAY-ALL, which is somehow slightly different from kale, but I said CH-OLL for the entire first book until I found the pronunciation guide in the back of the book. Also, I apparently pronounce Will Herondale’s last name wrong (from the Infernal Devices series by Cassandra Clare) . I’ve always said HER-ON-DALE, but all my friends insist it’s HERON-DALE. Like the bird, I guess. I still think I’m right. Anybody else pronounce his name like that?

2) “She doesn’t even go here!” Which character would you like to place in a fictional world from another book or series?

I’ve actually never really considered this question. I think I’d like to put Augustus Waters from The Fault in Our Stars into some fictional world where he could matter like he wanted to. I don’t know which one that would be, though. A zombie apocalypse? Star Wars? Anybody have an idea?

3) “On Wednesdays we wear pink!” Repetition, repetition. Which book gave you deja-vu of another book whilst reading it?

Truthwitch, which I just reviewed here, reminded me of a lesser version of the Throne of Glass series, particularly the novellas from The Assassin’s Blade.

4)  Which book gave you the complete opposite of girl power feels?

Girl-power is not necessarily something I look for in a book- I’d rather just enjoy the story, the characters, and the prose without going super-literary critic on it. That doesn’t mean I don’t notice though. I don’t like books that force you to acknowledge those sort of politicized motives-it defeats the point of the moral. I’m going to do with the Selection series here, not because America and her fellow competitors don’t have girl power, but because the premise reminds me uncomfortably of the ABC TV show The Bachelor, which I think is awful for a variety of reasons.

5) “You go Glen Coco!” Name a character you wanted to cheer on while reading:

Oh, there are so many! This is actually an attribute I look for in my favorite books. Recently, I’ve cheered on Kady Grant from Illuminae (my review is here). All-time favorite cheering characters include Celaena Sardothien, Will Herondale, Gansey (actually, the entire Raven Cycle gang, see my review of The Raven Boys), Katniss Everdeen… You get the point.

6) “Get in loser, we’re going shopping!” How long do you usually spend in a bookstore?

As long as whomever I’m with will let me!

7) “It’s not my fault you’re like in love with me or something!” Which character would have to get a restraining order out on you if they were real?

I want to say Will Herondale, because I LOVE him, but I actually think it would be Gansey. I really, really relate to him and would probably follow him anywhere.

8) “I can’t help it that I’m popular.” Which overhyped book were you cautious about reading?

Oddly enough, I think the answer to this question is the Harry Potter series, though I have no idea why. Despite having grown up in the Harry Potter generation, I didn’t read the books until I was in seventh grade! Also, I was very cautious about the Hunger Games series, and it wasn’t until I saw a guy friend of mine voraciously reading Mockingjay that I started the series.

9) “She’s a life ruiner. She ruins people’s lives.” Name a villain you love to hate:

These are my favorite villains! From a book series- DOLORES UMBRIDGE. I don’t think there’s a person alive who ever liked her. I also loved hating Loki from The Avengers, though admittedly I have no idea what side he’s on after Thor: The Dark World. President Snow is fun to hate as well, as is Bellatrix Lestrange.

10) “I’m not like a regular mom. I’m a cool mom.” Who are your favorite fictional parents?

As a massive Jily shipper, I love imagining James and Lily Potter as parents, particularly if they had lived. Jocelyn Fairchild and Lucian Graymark from the Mortal Instruments series are great parents too. I can’t wait to see Richard Castle and Kate Beckett as parents to more than just Ryan and Esposito on ABC’s show Castle! Also, Han Solo and Leia Organa parenting in both Star Wars: The Force Awakens and the entire Extended Universe makes me happy.

11) “That is so fetch!” What book or series would you love to catch on? 

I wish the Graveling series by Kristen Cashore was more popular, and I really hope Illuminae and the rest of that series does well. Honestly, most of the books I read are very mainstream, with pretty large followings, so if you have obscure recommendations send them my way!

12) “How do I even begin to explain Regina George?” Describe your ideal character to read about:

I love complicated characters with many layers and personal paradoxes, characters like Celaena Sardothien, Will Herondale, Jace Wayland, Hermione Granger, and Gansey. I’m also a sucker for really innocent characters who believe in the goodness of the world. I don’t like super cynical characters, mostly because I’m not cynical and I find jaded people really sad. I like funny, witty characters, and any character that loves books gets an instant boost in my book.

13) “I just have a lot of feelings.” What do you do when a book gives you a bad case of the ‘feels’?

I frequently have these overwhelming urges to gush about a book that gives me major feels, so I’ll troll tumblr, annoy my friends or force somebody I know to read the book. Also, I do a ton of rereading. Themed 8tracks playlists are also wonderful.

14) “‘Nice wig, Janice. What’s it made of?’ ‘Your mom’s chest hair.'” What character’s one-liners would you like to steal for your own?

Oh, there are a lot of these. The best is probably Percy Jackson. He’s simply hilarious!! Celaena Sardothien is pretty funny too, as is Will Herondale. Harry Potter’s got some sass too. I will forever want to have been the one to say the line: “Now I’m going to bed before you get us killed, or worse, expelled!”

15) Name a time a character’s decisions made you roll your eyes:

Tris Prior bothered me A TON. So did Katniss, Bella Swan, America Singer, and Clary Fairchild (particularly in City of Lost Souls). I actually had to stop reading Prisoner of Azkaban because I was so frustrated with Harry. Also, in Deathly Hallows, I wanted to shake Ron. You all know when!

Well, this was fun! I nominate:

Rachael Reads

beccaeatsbooks

Abbie Lu

Aleksis of Rocket Reads

Imogene of mugglebooks

Also, anyone else who wants to should do this challenge!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Mean Girls Book Tag!

Leave a Reply

