Book Reviews · Original Posts

Book Review: The Glass Magician

glass magician

I finished the sequel to The Paper Magician by Charlie N. Holmberg (which I reviewed previously) a few days ago. To be honest, I enjoyed the first one more, but the second one was a nice continuations. Holmberg’s style was consistent and pleasant, not extraordinary but not bad at all, and her magic is continually delightful in its whimsy. Ceony’s decision-making frustrated me a bit, and there was a point of view change late in the book that seemed unnecessary to me. We do get an in depth look at some other characters that I quite enjoyed. The beginning of The Glass Magician  is extremely enjoyable, but Ceony makes an immature decision about halfway through the book that frustrated me and lessened my enjoyment of the story. However, it was an enjoyable read, if not as gripping as The Paper Magician. I’m currently reading The Master Magician, the last book in the series, which I will review when I’m done. Good quotes from The Glass Magician include:

“You’re a candle that won’t be snuffed, and now the darkest parts of this world can see you. And they don’t tolerate the light.”

The Glass Magician by Charlie N. Holmberg

And, for humor:

“A young woman in distress, and they hadn’t even slowed? Curse the French!”

The Glass Magician by Charlie N. Holmberg

Overall, not as good as the original, but still worth a read if you like the series.

Rating: Three out of Five stars

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Glass Magician

  1. I’m sorry to hear that the sequel was not quite as thrilling as the first, but you really have me intrigued with the inventiveness of The Paper Magician. Thank you for your reviews, Katherine!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

