366 Days of Writing · Original Posts · Reflection

Day 8: Week 1 Progress

Well, here I am, one week into my challenge. I’ve actually really enjoyed this week, and it hasn’t been nearly as difficult to write every day as I thought. I confess I haven’t worked at all on my novel, which was the original goal of this blog, but I have been super busy. Also, kind of at a loss as to where to start. How, exactly, does one plan a novel? Do you start with characters, or plot, or setting, or backstory, or theme, or what? The ideas in my head are a jumble of all those ideas, and I don’t know how to begin culling them. Any advice from my faithful readers would be greatly appreciated. Plot seems to be my weakest point, thus far, but the rest of my schedule is very fun! I’ll probably be substituting poetry for plot on a fairly regular basis here.

One final note: I’m on East Coast US time, but Word Press marks everything 5 hours ahead of me on what appears to be Greenwich Mean Time (London Time). So, if it looks like I posted something a day late, it’s probably because I wrote after 7 pm my time and forgot to post date it so it shows the correct time. This is really bothering me, for some reason.

Please, tell me about your writing struggles and successes! Friday is to recognize our progress over the week.

4 thoughts on “Day 8: Week 1 Progress

  1. Hi Katherine. I’ve been thinking of your questions and, fwiw and imho, ONLY: the authors whom I know who write articles (non fiction) and books of all types outline extensively, but as I write mostly poetry and short stories, I don’t. My stories and story-type poems are very character and dialog driven and usually flow very easily, starting from one idea that gathers details as it rolls along. Sometimes they need a lot of editing, sometimes not much at all — or maybe they do need it but don’t get it! Mostly everyone I know agrees that mostly you just have to do it, you have to write and put in the time and the effort, and sometimes things come together. And the, re-work, keep at it, go back to it. For me, it is often helpful to write & write, then walk away and go back later or another day; sometimes the stupidity that I didn’t see, or errors I’ve made, jump out at me. Also, it is a Huge help to me as a poet to read aloud; this helps quite a bit with things like rhythm and word choice and line breaks and so on. Hope this helps. (If plot is your weakest part, you could perhaps develop your characters, become well acquainted with them, and then… let them loose to see what they do and what happens in they lives ; ) Best wishes, ~ Peri

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

